Hermaness Hat in Sumburgh

I have really got behind lately in writing about my F.O.s (i.e. finished objects) but I have been taking photos as there is a bit more light now so I will catch up with some blogposts soon.  At the end of last year myself and three friends spent the weekend in the self catering cottage at the Sumburgh lighthouse.  The weather was wild but we did manage to go for a few (short) walks, often sheltering from the hailstones, there was lots of good food and of course lots and lots of knitting!  I chose to knit the Hermaness hat using Shetland jumper weight yarn I had bought a cone of at a craft sale last summer.  I wanted a project that was straightforward (as there would be lots of chatting!)

DSC04087

Our cottage was the furthest part of the building on the left and it was a wonderful place to spend a weekend:

DSC03984

Beautiful views despite the weather:

DSC04011

DSC04015DSC04022

DSC04038

DSC04089

DSC04097

DSC03960

The Hermnaness Hat pattern is by Gudrun Johnston, from her book The Shetland Trader, Book Two.  It was a very easy pattern to follow, I started on Friday evening and cast it off on Sunday evening when I got home.  It was very satisfying to have a completed project at the end of the weekend.

Hermaness is the most northern point of Unst which is the most northerly island in Shetland.  I liked the fact I was knitting it at the lighthouse that marks the most southerly point of the Shetland mainland!

We had such a successful and productive weekend we have booked it again for later on this year!

You can find out more about staying at the Sumburgh Lighthouse here.

You can see this Ravelry project here.

 

 

 

 

 

